History of the Home
A Rich Heritage
The home was built in 1921 by a man called Otto Eisenstein, a banker who was married and had one son. The sun porch, which is now the gift shop, was used for Mrs. Eisenstein's weekly bridge parties. The main floor bed and bathroom were later added by the Eisensteins.
The home then sold to two more owners. In 1979, Chris and Becky Elcan bought the home and completely remodeled it. They replaced the wiring, plumbing, drywall and flooring. The also refinished the hardwood floors in the dining room and the sun room. The next year they added siding, built a large covered deck connecting to a new garage that has a loft bedroom and a full bath. Later they added the swimming pool.
In 1997 Keith and Debbi Schwaab purchased the home, with a dream of someday turning it into a bed and breakfast. They lived in it for a total of nine plus years before turning it into what is now called "The Hiding Place."
Everything has once again been updated, but still the home has the same charm it had in 1921.